top of page

Why Podiatry

WHY I CHOSE PODIATRY



• I have played soccer my entire life and was interested in working in the realm of sports medicine so podiatry offers me an avenue to stay involved in sports and give back to athletes


• There is so much diversity within podiatry in what you can sub-specialize in and I love the variation of different ailments you can see and treatment options available


• I have also had a wide array of my own injuries to the lower extremity and love that I will be able to relate with future patients on that level


• My father is diabetic and I have learned from shadowing that foot care is very important for diabetics, which is another personal connection I have to the Podiatric field


• Future outlook for job security and financial stability seem to be extremely positive for DPMs


• Podiatry offers me the possibility to specialize from Day 1 and provides a 3 year surgical residency focused on the lower extremity after medical school


• I am so happy I found podiatry when I did in undergrad and my goal with this account is to spread the word so other premeds KNOW THEIR OPTIONS! I am so excited to see what the future holds for me and I can’t wait to start this new chapter of my life!



Also PSA: we don’t go into podiatry because we have a foot fetish!!! People who go into healthcare want to help people and most people aren’t aware of how important their feet are until something is wrong. Podiatrists play a huge role in limb salvage and biomechanics, which can have a huge effect on a patient’s life. Podiatrists are just as much doctors as MDs and DOs so let’s END THE STIGMA (med school curriculum is practically the same across all 3 degrees aside from a few classes here and there)!



XOXO,



TRE

IMG_5269.JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Keep reading to learn more about me and my podiatry school tips!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page