top of page

Yes, Imposter Syndrome is Real

Pretty much everyone has felt it at some point in their medical journey…


Imposter Syndrome is a psychological ideology where someone doubts their accomplishments and feels inadequate or like a fraud. It’s something you’ve probably heard about and maybe even felt. Imposter syndrome can be found in various settings, but unfortunately I feel like most people in medicine have or will experience this at some point in their medical journey. I personally have began to experience glimpses of it myself as a result of feeling overwhelmed as an incoming medical student. I have begun to question my self-confidence and am wary of whether I can actually make it as a doctor some day. I have gotten great advice from current students and doctors telling me to take this time to focus on a healthy body and mind before school starts, so that is exactly what I am trying to do! Imposter syndrome can be extremely damaging to a person’s well-being and career growth, which is why it is essential to be proactive about it.


With that being said, here are are some warning signs to help look out for imposter syndrome:

  • you feel like your accomplishments are a result of luck

  • you find it difficult to accept praise

  • you hold yourself to incredible high standards

  • you find the fear of failure overwhelming

  • you feel like you’re unworthy


And more importantly, here are some ways to cope with imposter syndrome:

  • Know that you are not alone

  • Try to let go of your inner perfectionism

  • Be kind to yourself

  • Keep track of your work and accomplishments to help realize that it is not a result of just luck, but rather hard work

  • Talk about it with someone



Doubt is a normal feeling that most students experience and I think social media sometimes just showcases self confidence and medical students keeping it together, but what is really important is to continue to speak up about the many fallacies in medicine and to not let that doubt and fear control your actions.


Hope this helped! You are not alone if you are feeling this way!



XOXO,


TRE

,

IMG_5269.JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Keep reading to learn more about me and my podiatry school tips!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page